So it’s Friday and I’ve got a question for y’all out there…What type of game do you think I should design?

I’m working on a game about colonizing the New World in the 1600s and a game that is about managing a steam boat along the Mississippi and Ohio rivers in the 1800s, but I kinda want to work on a card game on one of these themes…

  1. Presidential Elections
  2. Farming
  3. Pirates
  4. Vikings

Let me know which one you think would be fun to do…I have ideas for all 4, but I want to hear from y’all.

Last Night

Last night, myself and  few friends celebrated Dave’s birthday a day late and as the women went to watch Star Trek, the guys hung out and played the game Colosseum.  Colosseum is a game where you are putting on shows in the Colosseum that uses an auction mechanic that is one of the best that I’ve seen in a board game.

It was a close game, but in the end Brent won.  Dave, the birthday boy, finished 4th.  A fun time was had by all.  Colosseum is being re-printed by Tasty Minstrel Games and can be pre-ordered at Miniature Market by following the link below…I do want to note that we played the version that is out of print and was published by Days of Wonder.

http://www.miniaturemarket.com/tttcolee.html

Well, in sports

The Cubs keep winning, but so do the Cardinals.  The Cubs have a 6 1/2 game lead in the NL Central and the Cardinals are now tied for the 2nd Wild Card spot.  As the trade deadline approaches, one has to wonder if the Cardinals will be making any deals for relief pitching since that has seemed to be the weakness this season.

Final Thoughts

I know that this post is more geared towards gaming, but when you are trying to design games as a hobby it’s what you talk about.  I am in the process with 2 friends in starting a board game publishing company and we have 2 games that are currently in the works.

For my St. Louis friends and my Champaign/Urbana friends and family, we will be hopefully doing playtesting in both areas and if you are interested please let me know.

 

