The song Sitting on the Dock of the Bay by Otis Redding is my life song…I would rather be sitting on a dock fishing and relaxing than doing anything else.  Unfortunately, I have a job and responsibilities so I can’t do that nearly as much as I’d want to.

This Sunday, I’ve decided that I’m going fishing…I don’t know where, but I do know that I’m going…I need a relaxing day and I’ve been putting off fishing for FAR TOO LONG!!!

I remember summer afternoons driving back with my dad from Carlyle, Illinois listening to either Rush Limbaugh(which I wanted to listen to as a kid…not sure why) or Cardinals baseball if they had a day game.  Those were the days, days when I didn’t have a care in the world.  Those days have drifted away like Joe DiMaggio in Mrs. Robinson.

The world that we currently live in is filled with so much hate and trouble that I don’t recognize it anymore.  Driving past my old house when I go to visit my family I have fond memories of sledding in the back yard, playing wiffleball across the street in my neighbor’s back yard…the neighborhood doesn’t feel the same anymore now.  I guess it is that the innocence of years gone by has finally worn off.

The world is dark and hopeless right now and it didn’t feel that way when I was a kid, in my little slice of suburbia where I did have to walk uphill to go to school.  Where have the good times gone?  I’m afraid that, most of the time, they die with our youth.

